Theatre terminology The natyashastra has definite terminology which and is comprehensive and descriptive. The theatre has definite division, and locations. Like the prekashanam, nivesanam, ranga, and nephatya the chapter II of the Natyashastra deals with this. Theatre building: • Natyamandapa, natyavesma, natyagrha, preksagrha, vesm and mandapa. This refers to the entire theatre complex. It is supposed to be like a mountain cavern; hence it is also known as –sailguhakara. • Prekshkaname-nivasam – the auditorium, • Dwibhumi – two level of seating in the royal theatre • Sopanakriti pitahkam – the tiered seating in public theatre, where levels 3 and 4 are between the outer pillars. • Janapravesia dwara – the auditorium door. Which used to be only one. • Rangamantapa the entire block of stage, including the nepathya. • Ranga – stage as a whole • Rangapeeta – stage or the main performing area • Mattavararni’s are two square areas, on either side of the rangapitha, each having four pillars one in each of its corner. • Rangasira, the stage area, behind the rangapitha and mattavarani, this is also a performing area. • Dwara, the two doors in the stage wall on either side of the saddiruka, these doors are referred to as uttaradwara and dakshina dwara. These doors are used in dakishinatya and ordha magadhi pravritti, and both cases they differ. • Vedika, the central platform on which the musicians sat. • The Brahma mandala the centre of the stage. • Citra yavanikah—is a post Bharata feature, it is a flexible curtain, can be used anywhere it is not a permanent stage equipment but is very very useful. • Nepathya the dressing rooms for costuming and make-up also for storing costumes. • Nepathya dwara the entrance to the nepthaya used by artists.